Bergrivier Local Municipality (WC013)

Geography, History & Economy

Bergrivier Local Municipality is part of West Coast District Municipality.

MDB code: WC013

Description: The Bergrivier Municipality is a Category B municipality located within the West Coast District in the Western Cape Province. It is bordered by Cederberg to the north, Swartland and Cape Winelands District to the south, Cape Winelands District to the east, and Saldanha Bay and the Atlantic Ocean to the west.
The municipality is one of the five municipalities in the district, accounting for 14% of its geographical area. Piketberg is the seat of the municipal council.

Area: 4 407km²

Cities/Towns: Aurora, Eendekuil, Piketberg, Porterville, Redelinghuys, Velddrif

Main Economic Sectors: Manufacturing (22.8%), agriculture, forestry and fishing (16.4%), wholesale and retail trade, catering and accommodation (16.2%), finance, insurance, real estate and business services (11.5%), general government (10.9%), transport, storage and communication (8.1%), community, social and personal services (6.3%), electricity, gas and water (2.0%), mining and quarrying (1.1%)

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.29