West Coast District Municipality (DC1)

Geography, History & Economy

West Coast District Municipality comprises:

MDB code: DC1

Description: The West Coast District Municipality is a Category C municipality located in the Western Cape Province. The municipalities adjacent to the West Coast District are the Namakwa District to the north and north-east, City of Cape Town to the south and Cape Winelands District to the south-east. It is also bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the west.
 It is comprised of five local municipalities: Swartland, with Malmesbury as the administrative centre; Bergrivier, with Piketberg as the administrative centre; Matzikama, with Vredendal as the administrative centre; Cederberg, with Clanwilliam as the administrative centre; and Saldanha Bay, with Vredenburg as the administrative centre. Moorreesburg is the seat of the district.

Area: 31 118km²

Cities/Towns: Abbotsdale, Aurora, Bitterfontein, Chatsworth, Citrusdal, Clanwilliam, Darling, Doring Bay, Ebenhaezer, Eendekuil, Elands Bay, Graafwater, Grotto Bay, Hopefield, Jacobs Bay, Kalbaskraal, Klawer, Kliprand, Koekenaa, Koringberg, Lamberts Bay, Langebaan, Leipoldtville, Lutzville, Malmesbury, Molsvlei, Moorreesburg, Nuwerus, Paternoster, Piketberg, Porterville, Putsekloof, Redelinghuys, Riebeeck Kasteel, Riebeeck West, Rietpoort, Riverlands, Saldanha, St Helena Bay, Stofkraal, Strandfontein, Vanrhynsdorp, Velddrif, Vredenburg, Vredendal, Wupperthal, Yzerfontein

Main Economic Sectors: Manufacturing (20.3%), agriculture, forestry and fishing (20,2%), finance, insurance, real estate and business services (11,4%), wholesale and retail trade, catering and accommodation (15,3%), general government (10,5%), transport, storage and communication (8,2%), construction (5%), community, social and personal services (6,1%)

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.29