Mossel Bay Local Municipality (WC043)

Geography, History and Economy

Mossel Bay Local Municipality is part of Eden District Municipality.

MDB code: WC043

Description: The Mossel Bay Local Municipality is a Category B municipality situated within the Eden District in the Western Cape Province. It is bordered by the municipalities of Oudtshoorn to the north, George to the east, and Langeberg to the west. Its northern boundary is the Outeniqua Mountains and its western boundary the Gouritz River. To the east it stretches to the Maalgate River. The municipality is one of seven in the district.
 The Eden District Municipality fulfils a coordinating function in the area, although each of the local municipalities remains autonomous. Mossel Bay Local Municipality is situated on the N2 approximately halfway between the coastal cities of Cape Town and Port Elizabeth.

Area: 2 001km²

Cities/Towns: Boggoms Bay, Brandwag, Friemersheim, Great Brak River, Herbertsdale, Mossel Bay, Vleesbaai

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.