City of Johannesburg Metropolitan Municipality (JHB)

Council & Management

Composition of Council:
ANC 122, DA 103, EFF 30, IFP 5, AIC 4, ACDP 1, ALJAMA 1, COPE 1, PA 1, UDM 1, VF PLUS 1
Controlling Party:
DA Minority Government
Mr Herman Mashaba
Deputy Mayor:
Vasco da Gama
Chief Whip:
Mlungiseli Ngalonkulu (Deputy Chief Whip)
Kevin Wax
Other Council:
Nico de Jager (MMC: Environment and Infrastructure Services)
Valencia Khumalo (MMC: Corporate and Shared Services)
Leah Knot (MMC: Economic Development)
Nonhlanhla Makhuba (MMC: Transport)
Reuben Masango (MMC: Development Planning)
Richard Ngobeni (MMC: Finance)
Mpho Phalatse (MMC: Health and Social Development)
Nonhlanhla Sifumba (MMC: Community Development)
Yao-Heng Sun (MMC: Public Safety)
Meshack van Wyk (MMC: Housing)
Municipal Manager:
Mr Ndivhoniswani Lukhwareni
Chief Financial Officer:
Ms Charity Wurayayi (Acting Group CFO)
Senior Management:
Dr Refik Bismilla (Executive Director: Health)
Floyd W Brink (Chief Operations Officer)
Jan Erasmus (Acting Group Strategy, Policy and Relations)
Lindiwe Hleza (Executive Director: Group Audit, Risk and Compliance)
Feroz Khan (Executive Head: Revenue and Customer Relations Management)
Kepi Madumo (Executive Director: Community Development)
Thabo Maisela (Acting Executive Director: Housing)
Tembeka Mhlekwa (Executive Director: Economic Development)
Isaac Mogashoa (Group Head: Legal and Contracts)
Amolemo Mothoagae (Executive Head: Development Planning)
Sinovuyo Mpakama (Group Head: Treasury and Financial Strategy)
Tinashe Mushayanyama (Group Head: Social Development)
Cynthia Numaio (Executive Director: Group Corporate and Shared Services)
Raj Pillay (Acting Group Head: Group Governance)
Lisa Seftel (Executive Director: Transport)
Lunelle Serobatse (Acting ED: Environment, Infrastructure and Services)
Vicky Shuping (Group Head: Customer Relations and Urban Management)
Communications Officers:
Georgina Lefifi (Acting Group Head: Group Communications)
The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.