Buffalo City Metropolitan Municipality (BUF)

Geography, History & Economy

MDB code: BUF

Description: The Buffalo City Metropolitan Municipality is a Category A municipality situated on the east coast of the Eastern Cape Province. The boundaries of the newly established municipality now include a large area characterised by very different features. Two former municipalities, Transitional Local Councils – that of East London and King William's Town – have merged into one. Other areas that were previously not included in either of them are now part of Buffalo City.
 The municipality was established as a local municipality in 2000 after South Africa's reorganisation of municipal areas and is named after the Buffalo River, at whose mouth lies the only river port in South Africa. On 18 May 2011 it was separated from the Amathole District Municipality and converted into a metropolitan municipality. History was made in Buffalo City when the City elected its first female mayor on Friday, 17 March 2006.
 The area has a well-developed manufacturing base, with the auto industry playing a major role. The climate is mild, with year-round sunshine. Average rainfall is 850mm.

Area: 2 753km²

Cities/Towns: Beacon Bay, Berlin, Bisho, Breidbach, Dimbaza, East London, Kidd's Beach, King William's Town, Mdantsane, Phakamisa, Potsdam, Zwelitsha

Main Economic Sectors: Community services (25%), finance (24%), manufacturing (24%), trade (12%), transport (12%)

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.29