Namakwa District Municipality (DC6)

Geography, History & Economy

Namakwa District Municipality comprises:

MDB code: DC6

Description: The Namakwa District Municipality is a Category C municipality located in the Northern Cape Province. It is bordered by the republic of Namibia in the north, ZF Mgcawu Local Municipality in the north-east, Cape Winelands District Municipality in the south, West Coast District Municipality in the south-west, Pixley Ka Seme District Municipality in the east, Central Karoo District Municipality in the south-east, and the Atlantic Ocean in the west.
 It is the largest district in the province, making up over a third of its geographical area. It is comprised of six local municipalities: Nama Khoi, Hantam, Khai-Ma, Kamiesberg, Karoo Hoogland and Richtersveld. The seat of the Namakwa District Municipality is Springbok.

Area: 126 836km²

Cities/Towns: Aggeneys, Alexander Bay, Brandvlei, Bulletrap, Calvinia, Carolusberg, Concordia, Eksteensfontein, Frasersburg, Garies, Hondeklip Bay, Kamieskroon, Kleinzee, Koingnaas, Komaggas, Kuboes, Leliefontein/Kamiesberg, Loeriesfontein, Middelpos, Nababeep, Nieuwoudtville, O'Kiep, Onderste Doorns, Pella, Pofadder, Port Nolloth, Richtersveld, Sanddrift, Springbok, Steinkopf, Sutherland, Williston

Main Economic Sectors: Agriculture, tourism

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.27