Stellenbosch Local Municipality (WC024)

Geography, History & Economy

Stellenbosch Local Municipality is part of Cape Winelands District Municipality.

MDB code: WC024

Description: The Stellenbosch Local Municipality is a Category B municipality located within the Cape Winelands District in the Western Cape Province. It is the smallest of the five municipalities in the district, making up only 4% of its geographical area.
 The major portion of the area is utilised for agriculture (mainly wine production). Stellenbosch Town is 50km to the east of Cape Town and is – after Cape Town – the oldest town in South Africa.
 The municipal area is internationally renowned for its beautiful environment, many places of interest, wine farms, street cafes, restaurants, quality wines, historical buildings and excellent educational institutions.

Area: 836km²

Cities/Towns: Franschhoek, Klapmuts, Pniel, Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch Farms

Main Economic Sectors: Agriculture, tourism, hospitality, finance, business, manufacturing, technology

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.27