Dr JS Moroka Local Municipality (MP316)

Geography, History & Economy

Dr JS Moroka Local Municipality is part of Nkangala District Municipality.

MDB code: MP316

Description: The Dr JS Moroka Local Municipality is a Category B municipality situated within the Nkangala District in the north-western part of the Mpumalanga Province. It is the smallest of six municipalities in the district, making up 8% of its geographical area.
 Siyabuswa is the capital town. The municipality forms part of the larger economic region of the City of Tshwane, City of Johannesburg, Emalahleni and Steve Tshwete Municipalities, due to the fact that these areas provide employment opportunities to a sizable number of the municipality's population.
 The geographical area includes 55 villages. It is characterised by a variety of urban, peri-urban and rural areas. Land use is largely for residential purposes, with some pieces of land falling under the control of traditional leadership. There is huge potential for growth in the tourism industry in this area.

Area: 1 416km²

Cities/Towns: Mdala Nature Reserve

Main Economic Sectors: Tourism

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.28