Joe Gqabi District Municipality (DC14)

Geography, History & Economy

Joe Gqabi District Municipality comprises:

MDB code: DC14

Description: The Joe Gqabi District Municipality (previously Ukhahlamba District Municipality) is a Category C municipality located within the Eastern Cape. It borders the Free State Province and country of Lesotho to the north. The municipality is located to the north of the OR Tambo and Chris Hani District Municipalities, to the east of the Northern Cape, and to the west of Alfred Nzo.
 Joe Gqabi lies approximately 34km north of Komani (Queenstown) and its northern border is formed by the Orange River, which also forms the southern boundary of the Free State. It consists of three local municipalities: Elundini, Walter Sisulu and Senqu. Aliwal North is the main commercial and tourism centre.

Area: 25 617km²

Cities/Towns: Aliwal North, Barkly East, Burgersdorp, Jamestown, Lady Grey, Maclear, Mount Fletcher, Oviston, Rhodes, Rossouw, Sterkspruit, Steynsburg, Ugie, Venterstad

Main Economic Sectors: Community services (55%), finance (12.6%), trade (9.7%), manufacturing (9.6%), agriculture (6.2%)

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.29