Metsimaholo Local Municipality (FS204)

Geography, History & Economy

Metsimaholo Local Municipality is part of Fezile Dabi District Municipality.

MDB code: FS204

Description: The Metsimaholo Local Municipality is a Category B municipality located within the Fezile Dabi District of the Free State Province. It is the smallest of four municipalities in the district, making up 8% of its geographical area. The municipality was established in 2000 through the amalgamation of the then Sasolburg, Deneysville and Oranjeville Transitional Local Councils.
 The dominance of Sasolburg, owing to its population density and its proximity to the economically active City of Johannesburg, provides the area with the opportunity of being declared the head office of the entire Metsimaholo Municipality. Metsimaholo means ‘big water' in Sesotho.

Area: 1 717km²

Cities/Towns: Deneysville, Kragbron, Oranjeville, Sasolburg

Main Economic Sectors: Manufacturing, retail, community services

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.29