Fezile Dabi District Municipality (DC20)

Geography, History & Economy

Fezile Dabi District Municipality comprises:

MDB code: DC20

Description: The Fezile Dabi District Municipality is a Category C municipality, formerly known as the Northern Free State District Municipality, situated in the north of the Free State. It is bordered by the North West, Gauteng and Mpumalanga Provinces to the north, Thabo Mofutsanyana District to the south, and Lejweleputswa District to the west.
 The municipality is the smallest district in the province, making up 16% of its geographical area. It consists of four local municipalities: Moqhaka, Metsimaholo, Ngwathe and Mafube.
 The main attraction site, the Vredefort Dome, being the third-largest meteorite site in the world, is located within the district.

Area: 20 674km²

Cities/Towns: Cornelia, Deneysville, Edenville, Frankfort, Heilbron, Koppies, Kragbron, Kroonstad, Oranjeville, Parys, Renovaal, Sasolburg, Steynsrus, Tweeling, Vierfontein, Viljoenskroon, Villiers, Vredefort

Main Economic Sectors: Trade (22%), community services (20%), manufacturing (13%), households (13%), agriculture (12%), finance (7%), construction (6%), transport (5%)

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.29