Tsolwana Local Municipality (EC132)

Tsolwana Local Municipality was disestablished and merged with Inkwanca Local Municipality and Lukhanji Local Municipality to establish Enoch Mgijima Local Municipality on 3 August 2016. All information displayed here is historical information relating to the municipality before being disestablished.

Geography, History & Economy

Tsolwana Local Municipality is part of Chris Hani District Municipality.

MDB code: EC132

Description: Tsolwana Local Municipality is a Category B municipality situated within the Chris Hani District of the Eastern Cape province. It is made up of the following combination: former Tarkastad Transitional Local Council (TLC) and Transitional Regional Council (TRC), former Hofmeyer TLC and TRC, and former Ntabethemba TRC.
‚ÄÉTsolwana Municipality has two main urban centres and about 11 rural villages scattered within the former Ntabethemba area, including Thornhill, Mitford, Rocklands and Tendergate.

Area: 6 087km²

Cities/Towns: Hofmeyr, Tarkastad

Main Economic Sectors: Agriculture, community services

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.