Chris Hani District Municipality (DC13)

Geography, History & Economy

Chris Hani District Municipality comprises:

MDB code: DC13

Description: The Chris Hani District Municipality is a Category C municipality situated in the north-eastern part of the Eastern Cape, a linking node to all regions in the province. It is bordered by the Joe Gqabi District to the north, Cacadu and Amathole District to the south, OR Tambo District to the east, and Northern Cape to the west.
 Chris Hani is the second-largest district in the province, making up almost a third of its geographical area. The municipality comprises six local municipalities: Inxuba Yethemba, Enoch Mgijima, Intsika Yethu, Engcobo, Sakhisizwe and Emalahleni.
 The area, which is vastly agricultural, provides an ideal investment opportunity for agro-processing, and its proximity to the ports of East London and Port Elizabeth, with links to major routes like the N6 and N10, is an advantage.

Area: 36 406km²

Cities/Towns: Cacadu (Lady Frere), Cala, Cofimvaba, Cradock, Dordrecht, Engcobo, Hofmeyr, Indwe, Khowa (Elliot), Komani (Queenstown), Middelburg, Molteno, Mount Zebra National Park, Sada, Sterkstroom, Tarkastad, Tsomo, Whittlesea

Main Economic Sectors: Community services (52%), trade (15%), finance (14%), transport (6%), agriculture (4%), manufacturing (4%), electricity (2%)

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.28