Mnquma Local Municipality (EC122)

Geography, History & Economy

Mnquma Local Municipality is part of Amathole District Municipality.

MDB code: EC122

Description: The Mnquma Local Municipality is a Category B municipality located in the south-eastern part of the Eastern Cape Province. It falls under the jurisdiction of the Amathole District Municipality and comprises an amalgamation of the former Butterworth, Ngqamakhwe and Centane Transitional Regional Councils.
 The municipality shares borders with three other local municipalities, the Chris Hani District and the Indian Ocean. It is one of six municipalities in the Amathole District.

Area: 3 137km²

Cities/Towns: Butterworth, Kentani, Ngqamakhwe

Main Economic Sectors: Community (government) services (41%), wholesale and retail trade (18.5%), manufacturing (15.5%)

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.28