City of Cape Town Metropolitan Municipality (CPT)

Council & Management

Composition of Council:
DA 154, ANC 56, EFF 7, ACDP 3, ALJAMA 2, AIC 1, CMC 1, COPE 1, DI 1, PAC 1, PA 1, UDM 1, VF PLUS 1
Controlling Party:
Executive Mayor:
Mr Dan Plato (Executive Mayor)
Deputy Mayor:
Mr Ian Neilson (Deputy Mayor and Finance)
Ms Felicity Purchase
Chief Whip:
Ms Desiree Visagie
Other Council:
Mr Zahid Badrioodien (MMC: Community Services and Health)
Mr Malusi Booi (MMC: Human Settlements)
Ms Sharon Cottle (MMC: Corporate Services)
Ms Xanthea Limberg (MMC: Water and Waste)
Mr Phindile Maxiti (MMC: Energy and Climate Change)
Ms Marian Nieuwoudt (MMC: Planning and Environment)
Mr Rob Quintas (MMC: Transport)
Mr JP Smith (MMC: Safety and Security)
Mr Grant Twigg (MMC: Urban Management)
Mr James Vos (MMC: Economic Opportunities and Asset Management)
Municipal Manager:
Mr Lungelo Mbandazayo (City Manager)
Chief Financial Officer:
Mr Kevin Jacoby (Executive Director: Finance)
Senior Management:
Mr Osman Asmal (Executive Director: Spatial Planning and Environment)
Mr Richard Bosman (Executive Director: Safety and Security)
Ms Nolwandle Gqiba (Executive Director: Human Settlements)
Mr Craig Kesson (Executive Director: Corporate Services)
Ms Kelcy Le-Keur (Executive Director: Economic Opportunities and Asset Management)
Mr Philemon Mashoko (Executive Director: Urban Management)
Mr Kadri Nassiep (Executive Director: Energy and Climate Change)
Mr Ernest Sass (Executive Director: Community Services and Health and Acting Executive Director: Transport)
Mr Michael Webster (Acting Executive Director: Water and Waste Services)
Communications Officers:
Ms Priya Reddy (Director: Communication and Corporate Services)
The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.