eThekwini Metropolitan Municipality (ETH)

Council & Management

Composition of Council:
ANC 96, DA 59, EFF 24, IFP 16, ACTIONSA 4, ABC 2, ACC 2, ACDP 2, AIC 2, ADEC 1, ALJAMA 1, APF 1, ATM 1, DLC 1, JEP 1, KZNI 1, MF 1, MOSA 1, NFP 1, PFP 1, PRM 1, TA 1, UIM 1, VF PLUS 1 (LGE 2021)
Controlling Party:
ANC/ABC Coalition
Mr Mxolisi Kaunda
Deputy Mayor:
Mr Philani Mavundla
Mr Thabani Nyawose
Chief Whip:
Mr Thembubuhle Ntuli
Other Council:
Ms Yogiswarie Govender (Exco)
Ms Nicole Graham (Exco)
Ms Makhosi Khoza (MPAC Chairperson)
Mr Nkosenhle Madlala
Mr Thabane Miya
Mr Thabani Mthethwa (Exco)
Mr Mdu Nkosi (Exco)
Mr Thanduxolo Sabelo (Exco)
Ms Zamazulu Sokhabase
Municipal Manager:
Mr Musa Mbhele (Acting City Manager)
Chief Financial Officer:
Mr Sandile Mnguni
Senior Management:
Mr Sipho Cele (Governance and International Relations)
Dr Musa Gumede (Community and Emergency Services)
Mr Sibusiso Makhanya (Trading Services)
Ms Kim Makhathini (Corporate and Human Resource)
Ms Beryl​ ​ Mphakathi (Human Settlements, Engineering and Transportation)
Mr Phillip Sithole (Economic Development and Planning)
Communications Officers:
Msawakhe Mayisela (Spokesperson)
Mr Mandla Nsele (Acting)
The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.