Central Karoo District Municipality (DC5)

Geography, History & Economy

Central Karoo District Municipality comprises:

MDB code: DC5

Description: The Central Karoo District Municipality is a Category C municipality located in the Western Cape Province. It is bordered by the Pixley Ka Seme District Municipality in the north, Namakwa District Municipality in the north-west, Garden Route District Municipality in the south, Sarah Baartman District Municipality in the east and Cape Winelands District Municipality in the west.
‚ÄÉCentral Karoo is the largest district in the province, making up a third of its geographical area. It is comprised of three local municipalities: Laingsburg, Prince Albert and Beaufort West. The seat of the district is Beaufort West.

Area: 38 854km²

Cities/Towns: Beaufort West, Klaarstroom, Laingsburg, Leeu Gamka, Matjiesfontein, Merweville, Murraysburg, Nelspoort, Prince Albert, Welgemoed

Main Economic Sectors: Agriculture (47%), finance and business services (22%), community services (19%), construction (7%)

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.29