Capricorn District Municipality (DC35)

Geography, History & Economy

Capricorn District Municipality comprises:

MDB code: DC35

Description: The Capricorn District Municipality is a Category C municipality situated in the Limpopo Province. The municipality is situated as a stopover between Gauteng and the northern areas of Limpopo, and between the north-western areas and the Kruger National Park. It forms a gateway to Botswana, Zimbabwe and Mozambique.
 It consists of the following four local municipalities: Blouberg, Lepelle-Nkumpi, Molemole and Polokwane. It derives its name from the Tropic of Capricorn, along which it is situated.
 Limpopo's capital, Polokwane (previously Pietersburg), lies in the heart of the Capricorn region. The district has an internal airport, and is linked to Gauteng by one of the best stretches of the N1 in South Africa. It has the third-largest district economy in the province, and is predominantly rural in nature.

Area: 21 706km²

Cities/Towns: Alldays, Dendron, Morebeng (Soekmekaar), Polokwane, Senwabarwana (Bochum), Zebediela

Main Economic Sectors: Community services (30.9%), finance (27.6%), trade (14%), transport (13.2%), manufacturing (4.3%), construction (3.3%), agriculture (3.1%), electricity (2.9%)

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.29