Overstrand Local Municipality (WC032)

Geography, History & Economy

Overstrand Local Municipality is part of Overberg District Municipality.

MDB code: WC032

Description: The Overstrand Local Municipality is a Category B municipality located within the Overberg District in the Western Cape Province. It borders the Indian Ocean in the south, having a vast stretch of coastline. It is the smallest of four municipalities in the district, making up 14% of its geographical area. The seat of Overstrand is Hermanus.
 Ultimately, its unique offerings of the ultimate experience in land-based whale watching and shark cage diving, pristine Blue Flag beaches, excellent wine industry, and top-class restaurants and accommodation make it an attractive tourist destination with a variety of activities.

Area: 1 675km²

Cities/Towns: Betty's Bay, Birkenhead, De Kelders, Fisherhaven, Franskraal, Gansbaai, Hawston, Hermanus, Kleinmond, Onrus, Pearly Beach, Pringle Bay, Rooi-Els, Sandbaai, Stanford, Van Dyksbaai, Vermont

Main Economic Sectors: Transport, storage and communication (11,3%), finance, insurance, real estate and business services (31.2%), wholesale (15.5%), manufacturing (13,9%), commercial services

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.28