uMzinyathi District Municipality (DC24)

Geography, History & Economy

uMzinyathi District Municipality comprises:

MDB code: DC24

Description: The uMzinyathi District Municipality is a Category C municipality located in the north and central areas of the KwaZulu-Natal Province. The municipality is bordered in the north by Amajuba Municipality, in the south-east by iLembe Municipality, in the south-west by uMgungundlovu Municipality, in the east by King Cetshwayo Municipality, and in the west by uThukela Municipality.
 The district consists of four local municipalities: Endumeni, Nquthu, uMsinga and Umvoti. The district lies between the main N3 Corridor between Durban and Gauteng and the Coastal Corridor, running along the east coast.
 The more developed urban areas include Dundee and Greytown, which can be viewed as a strong regional centre with substantial commercial and agricultural activity. The seat of uMzinyathi is Dundee.

Area: 8 652km²

Cities/Towns: Dundee, Glencoe, Greytown, Kranskop, Nquthu, Pomeroy

Main Economic Sectors: Community, social and personal services (27.4%), agriculture, hunting, forestry and fishing (22.6%), wholesale and retail trade (15.9%), manufacturing (14.8%), financial, insurance, real estate and business services (7.3%), electricity and construction (6.3%), transport, storage and communication (3.5%)

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.27