Ga-Segonyana Local Municipality (NC452)

Geography, History & Economy

Ga-Segonyana Local Municipality is part of John Taolo Gaetsewe District Municipality.

MDB code: NC452

Description: The Ga-Segonyana Local Municipality is a Category B municipality situated within the John Taolo Gaetsewe District in the Northern Cape Province. It is one of the three municipalities that make up the district, accounting for 16% of its geographical area. It originated as a cross-boundary municipality that straddled the North West and Northern Cape Provinces.
 It was established in 2000 through the amalgamation of the Kuruman and Mothibistad Municipalities. The area is also administered through a traditional authority system with two paramount chiefs and headmen.

Area: 4 495km²

Cities/Towns: Bankhara-Bodulong, Kuruman, Mothibistad

Main Economic Sectors: Mining, agriculture

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.28