John Taolo Gaetsewe District Municipality (DC45)

Geography, History & Economy

John Taolo Gaetsewe District Municipality comprises:

MDB code: DC45

Description: The John Taolo Gaetsewe District Municipality (previously Kgalagadi) is a Category C municipality located in the north of the Northern Cape Province, bordering Botswana in the west. It comprises the three local municipalities of Gamagara, Ga-Segonyana and Joe Morolong, and 186 towns and settlements, of which the majority (80%) are villages.
 The boundaries of this district were demarcated in 2006 to include the once north-western part of Joe Morolong and Olifantshoek, along with its surrounds, into the Gamagara Local Municipality.
 It has an established rail network from Sishen South and between Black Rock and Dibeng. It is characterised by a mixture of land uses, of which agriculture and mining are dominant. The district holds potential as a viable tourist destination and has numerous growth opportunities in the industrial sector.

Area: 27 323km²

Cities/Towns: Bankhara-Bodulong, Deben, Hotazel, Kathu, Kuruman, Mothibistad, Olifantshoek, Santoy, Van Zylsrus

Main Economic Sectors: Agriculture, mining, retail

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.29