Dr Pixley Ka Isaka Seme Local Municipality (MP304)

Geography, History & Economy

Dr Pixley Ka Isaka Seme Local Municipality is part of Gert Sibande District Municipality.

MDB code: MP304

Description: The Dr Pixley Ka Isaka Seme Local Municipality is a Category B municipality situated within the Gert Sibande District in the Mpumalanga Province. It is bordered by Msukaligwa in the north, the Free State and KwaZulu-Natal Provinces in the south, Mkhondo in the east, and Lekwa in the west. It is one of the seven municipalities that make up the district, accounting for 16% of its geographical area.
 The municipality is named after Pixley Ka Isaka Seme, a founder and president of the African National Congress. Volksrust is the seat of the municipality.

Area: 5 227km²

Cities/Towns: Amersfoort, Perdekop, Volksrust, Wakkerstroom

Main Economic Sectors: Agriculture (20%), trade (19.9%), community services (16.4%), construction (12.1%), finance (5.9%), manufacturing (4.6%), transport (4.4%), utilities (3.8%), mining (2.2%)

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.29