Msukaligwa Local Municipality (MP302)

Geography, History & Economy

Msukaligwa Local Municipality is part of Gert Sibande District Municipality.

MDB code: MP302

Description: The Msukaligwa Local Municipality is a Category B municipality situated within the Gert Sibande District in the Mpumalanga Province. It is bordered in the north by the Nkangala District and Chief Albert Luthuli, in the south by Lekwa and Dr Pixley Ka Isaka Seme, in the east by Mkhondo, and in the west by Govan Mbeki.
 It is the largest of the seven municipalities that make up the district, accounting for 19% of its geographical area. Ermelo is the seat of the municipality.

Area: 6 003km²

Cities/Towns: Breyten, Chrissiesmeer, Davel, Ermelo, Lothair

Main Economic Sectors: Finance (23.8%), community services (20.9%), transport (17.5%), trade (14.4%), mining (12.2%)

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.29