Greater Tubatse Local Municipality (LIM475)

Greater Tubatse Local Municipality was disestablished and merged with Fetakgomo Local Municipality to establish Fetakgomo Tubatse Local Municipality on 3 August 2016. All information displayed here is historical information relating to the municipality before being disestablished.

Geography, History & Economy

Greater Tubatse Local Municipality is part of Sekhukhune District Municipality.

MDB code: LIM475

Description: Greater Tubatse Local Municipality is located north of the N4 highway, Middelburg, Belfast and Mbombela (previously Nelspruit), and east of the N1 highway, Groblersdal and Polokwane (previously Pietersburg).
 The area of jurisdiction is known as the Middelveld as it is located between the Highveld and Lowveld regions. It forms part of the Sekhukhune District Municipality in the Limpopo province. The district also includes Elias Motsoaledi, Ephraim Mogale, Fetakgomo and Makhuduthamaga. The area was established after the local government elections of 2000 as an outflow of the municipal demarcation process. It comprises 29 wards represented by one councillor per ward, and is administered by a local municipality that has its main offices in Burgersfort.
 The vast majority of the area is made up of villages that are scattered throughout, particularly, the northern part of the municipality. There is one main municipal office and there are three satellite municipal offices. The main office is located at Burgersfort and the satellite offices are located at GaMapodile, Praktiseer and Ohrigstad.

Area: 4 602km²

Cities/Towns: Burgersfort, Ohrigstad, Steelpoort

Main Economic Sectors: Agriculture, mining, trade, tourism, manufacturing

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.