Sekhukhune District Municipality (DC47)

Geography, History & Economy

Sekhukhune District Municipality comprises:

MDB code: DC47

Description: The Sekhukhune District Municipality is a Category C municipality and is located in the Limpopo Province, the northernmost part of South Africa. It lies in the south-eastern part of the province, bordering on the Capricorn and Mopani Districts in the north, Mpumalanga in the south and east, and the Waterberg District in the west.
  The district is the smallest in the province, making up 11% of its geographical area. It is comprised of four local municipalities: Elias Motsoaledi, Ephraim Mogale, Makhuduthamaga and Fetakgomo Tubatse. The area's towns and villages are serviced by its major river – the Olifants.

Area: 13 527km²

Cities/Towns: Burgersfort, Groblersdal, Marble Hall, Ohrigstad, Roossenekal, Schuinsdraai Nature Reserve, Steelpoort

Main Economic Sectors: Community services, mining (15-20%), trade (17%), financial and business services (10-12%), agriculture (9.7%)

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.28