Kwa Sani Local Municipality (KZN432)

Kwa Sani Local Municipality was disestablished and merged with Ingwe Local Municipality to establish Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma Local Municipality on 3 August 2016. All information displayed here is historical information relating to the municipality before being disestablished.

Geography, History & Economy

Kwa Sani Local Municipality is part of Harry Gwala District Municipality.

MDB code: KZN432

Description: Kwa Sani Local Municipality is an administrative area in the Harry Gwala District (previously Sisonke District) of KwaZulu-Natal.
 Kwa Sani is an isiZulu name. ‘Kwa' means ‘at' and ‘Sani' means ‘San people'. The name was chosen because it was easy to pronounce for overseas visitors to the World Heritage Site of Ukhahlamba.

Area: 1 852km²

Cities/Towns: Himeville, Underberg

Main Economic Sectors: Agriculture, tourism

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.