Harry Gwala District Municipality (DC43)

Geography, History & Economy

Harry Gwala District Municipality comprises:

MDB code: DC43

Description: The Harry Gwala District Municipality (previously Sisonke District Municipality) is a Category C municipality situated south of KwaZulu-Natal. It borders on the Eastern Cape Province, Lesotho and the Drakensberg Mountains, which form a 200km-long World Heritage Site.
 The municipality is comprised of four local municipalities: Dr Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma, uMzimkhulu, Greater Kokstad and Ubuhlebezwe. The seat of Harry Gwala is Ixopo.
 Economically, the most prominent employment sectors are agriculture, construction and small-scale manufacturing. The district is known for its progressive farming methods. Harry Gwala has an abundance of high quality soils, high altitude, abundant water, and climatic extremes, which makes the area suitable for dairy farming. A significant portion of dairy consumed in KwaZulu-Natal is produced within the district. The unspoilt natural environment has high ecotourism and adventure-tourism potential.

Area: 10 388km²

Cities/Towns: Creighton, Himeville, Ixopo, Kokstad, Underberg, uMzimkhulu

Main Economic Sectors: Community services and agriculture (60%)

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.27