Ingwe Local Municipality (KZN431)

Ingwe Local Municipality was disestablished and merged with Kwa Sani Local Municipality to establish Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma Local Municipality on 3 August 2016. All information displayed here is historical information relating to the municipality before being disestablished.

Geography, History & Economy

Ingwe Local Municipality is part of Harry Gwala District Municipality.

MDB code: KZN431

Description: Ingwe Local Municipality is situated in the southern part of KwaZulu-Natal and falls under the Harry Gwala District Municipality (previously Sisonke District Municipality), which borders on the Eastern Cape and Lesotho. It is the second-largest municipality within the district.
 The municipal head office is located in Creighton 112km south-west of Howick and 176km north-east of Kokstad. The town of Creighton fulfils the role of being the administrative centre for Ingwe and acts as the commercial centre for its surroundings within the municipal area. The rest of the municipal area consists of tribal lands that dominate the area.

Area: 1 976km²

Cities/Towns: Creighton

Main Economic Sectors: Agriculture

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.