Koukamma Local Municipality (EC109)

Geography, History & Economy

Koukamma Local Municipality is part of Sarah Baartman District Municipality.

MDB code: EC109

Description: The Koukamma Local Municipality is situated in the Sarah Baartman District Municipality alongside the Indian Ocean coastline in the south-western area of the Eastern Cape Province. The Western Cape Province is not far to the west.
 Koukamma neighbours the Dr Beyers Naude Local Municipality in the north and the Kouga Local Municipality to the east. It is one of seven municipalities in the district. The administrative centre for the Koukamma Municipality is Kareedouw, and Tweeriviere is considered the commercial centre.
 Koukamma is a relatively poor area that reports high unemployment and low levels of literacy. Settlements are scattered and far from each other, which poses challenges to the development of infrastructure and basic services such as water, sewage, electricity and sanitation.
 Storms River is the primary tourism centre within the municipality. The coastal belt includes the well-known Tsitsikamma area. The Langkloof area is surrounded by the Tsitsikamma Mountains. The coastal area is characterised by a diverse and fast-growing economy, a fast-growing population linked to economic opportunities, a good water supply, and a wealth of holiday destinations and indigenous forests.

Area: 3 642km²

Cities/Towns: Clarkson, Joubertina, Kareedouw, Krakeel River, Louterwater, Misgund, Nompumelelo, Sanddrif, Storms River, Woodlands

Main Economic Sectors: Tourism, agriculture

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.28