Dr Beyers Naudé Local Municipality (EC101)

Baviaans Local Municipality and Ikwezi Local Municipality were merged into Camdeboo Local Municipality and renamed Dr Beyers Naudé Local Municipality on 3 August 2016. Financial, Employment and Service Delivery information prior to the 2016/17 financial year only includes figures for Camdeboo Local Municipality. View historical information for Baviaans Local Municipality and Ikwezi Local Municipality.

Geography, History & Economy

Dr Beyers Naudé Local Municipality is part of Sarah Baartman District Municipality.

MDB code: EC101

Description: Dr Beyers Naudé Local Municipality (previously Camdeboo Local Municipality) is a Category B municipality situated in the Sarah Baartman District in the west of the Eastern Cape Province. It is the largest municipality of seven in the district, making up half of its geographical area.
 Graaff-Reinet, the fourth-oldest town in South Africa and referred to as the ‘Gem of the Karoo', is a hub of agritourism activity. It is the seat of the Municipal Council and is also the centre where the largest concentration of the population live and work. Each town has unique dynamics and attractions that draw visitors from far and wide, some of whom have made this their home.
 The municipality is strategically situated as a portal to the mystical Karoo in an area renowned for its pristine natural environment, rich heritage, and diverse peoples and cultures. The area boasts a number of popular tourist attractions, beautiful landscapes and a healthy climate.

Area: 28 653km²

Cities/Towns: Aberdeen, Adendorp, Graaff-Reinet, Jansenville, Kendrew, Klipplaat, Nieu-Bethesda, Rietbron, Steytlerville, Waterford, Willowmore

Main Economic Sectors: Community services, agriculture, tourism, finance.

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.