Nxuba Local Municipality (EC128)

Nxuba Local Municipality was disestablished and merged with Nkonkobe Local Municipality to establish Raymond Mhlaba Local Municipality on 3 August 2016. All information displayed here is historical information relating to the municipality before being disestablished.

Geography, History & Economy

Nxuba Local Municipality is part of Amathole District Municipality.

MDB code: EC128

Description: Nxuba Local Municipality is a plenary type of municipality and is a product of the amalgamation of the now disestablished Adelaide Transitional Local Council (TLC) and Bedford TLC, and surrounding farm areas. It is situated in the Winterland of the Eastern Cape under the jurisdiction of the Amathole District Municipality and is approximately 200km from Port Elizabeth.
 The rural hinterland forms part of the Nxuba Municipality area. Most of the farming activities take place in the rural areas, which consist of partly-owned farms, and this plays a major role in the economic growth of the area.

Area: 2 732km²

Cities/Towns: Adelaide, Bedford

Main Economic Sectors: Community and public services, finance and business services, manufacturing

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.