Govan Mbeki Local Municipality (MP307)

Council & Management

Composition of Council:
ANC 26, DA 17, EFF 13, VF PLUS 3, ARP. 2, ATM 1, IFP 1 (LGE 2021)
Controlling Party:
Hung Council
Executive Mayor:
Mr Nhlakanipho Zuma
Deputy Mayor:
Ms Fikile Magagamela
Chief Whip:
Mr MJ Mtsweni
Other Council:
Ms Ciska Jordaan (MPAC Chairperson)
Mr Vusi Mbokazi (MMC: Technical Services)
Mr Doctor Mtshali (MMC: Water and Sanitation)
Ms Thandi Mtsweni (MMC: Corporate Services)
Ms Thandi Ngxonono (MMC: Planning and Development)
Mr Oupa Sibanyoni (MMC: Community Services and Safety)
Municipal Manager:
Ms Elliot Maseko
Chief Financial Officer:
Mr Bongumusa Sithole
Senior Management:
Adv Themba Gininda (Director: Corporate Services)
Mr Stan Mzobe (Regional Manager: Region 3)
Mr Billy Ndlovu (Regional Manager: Region 1)
Themba Phungwayo (Acting Director: Planning and Development)
Mr Benzi Soko (Chief of Staff)
Mr Hendrik van der Merwe (Acting Director: Community Services)
Mr Sabelo Vilakazi (Manager: LED)
Sabelo Vilalazi (Regional Manager: Region 2)
Thanda Zulu (Director: Technical Services)
Communications Officers:
Mr Lucky Mhlongo (Spokesperson)
Benzi Soko
The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.