Ngaka Modiri Molema District Municipality (DC38)

Geography, History & Economy

Ngaka Modiri Molema District Municipality comprises:

MDB code: DC38

Description: The Ngaka Modiri Molema District Municipality is a Category C municipality and one of four district municipalities in the North West Province. It is situated centrally within the province and shares an international border with Botswana. It is comprised of five local municipalities: Mahikeng, Ratlou, Ramotshere Moiloa, Ditsobotla and Tswaing.
 The district is home to Mahikeng (previously Mafikeng), the capital of the province. Aptly named, the capital is nicknamed ‘The City of Goodwill', which is also the city's slogan. It is a rapidly growing, modern, residential, administrative and commercial town, which contrasts with its fascinating history.

Area: 28 125km²

Cities/Towns: Biesiesvlei, Coligny, Delareyville, Disaneng, Groot Marico, Kraaipan, Lichtenburg, Madibogo, Mahikeng, Mmabatho, Ottosdal, Ottoshoop, Sannieshof, Setlagole, Zeerust

Main Economic Sectors: Agriculture, tourism, mining

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.29