Mopani District Municipality (DC33)

Geography, History & Economy

Mopani District Municipality comprises:

MDB code: DC33

Description: The Mopani District Municipality is a Category C municipality located within the north-eastern quadrant of the Limpopo Province. It is bordered in the north by Zimbabwe and Vhembe District Municipality, in the south by the Mpumalanga Province through Ehlanzeni District Municipality, in the south-west by Sekhukhune District Municipality, in the east by Mozambique, and in the west by the Capricorn and Vhembe District Municipalities.
 The district consists of five local municipalities: Ba-Phalaborwa, Greater Giyani, Greater Letaba, Greater Tzaneen and Maruleng. The seat of Mopani is Giyani, and the district is part of the Great Limpopo Transfrontier Park.

Area: 20 012km²

Cities/Towns: Giyani, Gravelotte, Haenertsburg, Hoedspruit, Leydsdorp, Modjadjiskloof, Tzaneen

Main Economic Sectors: Mining (30.1%), community services (22.6%), trade (14.6%), finance (14.6%), transport (8.2%), agriculture (3.2%), electricity (2.8%), construction (2%)

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.28