Zululand District Municipality (DC26)

Geography, History & Economy

Zululand District Municipality comprises:

MDB code: DC26

Description: The Zululand District Municipality is a Category C municipality situated in the north-eastern part of KwaZulu-Natal. It is the biggest district in the province, making up 16% of its geographical area. It comprises five local municipalities: Ulundi, Nongoma, uPhongolo, eDumbe and AbaQulusi.
 Vryheid and Ulundi are two urban centres of note in the district, respectively serving as a regional service and a regional and provincial administrative centre. The town of Vryheid is a commercial and business hub, while Ulundi Town is mainly an administrative centre and also the headquarters of the Zululand District Municipality.
 It is primarily a rural district. About half the area falls under the jurisdiction of traditional authorities, while the remainder is privately owned commercial farms or protected areas.

Area: 14 800km²

Cities/Towns: Louwsburg, Nongoma, Paulpietersburg, Pongola, Ulundi, Vryheid

Main Economic Sectors: General government (22%), transport, storage and communication (16%), wholesale and retail trade, catering and accommodation (15%), finance, insurance, real estate and business services (11%), agriculture, forestry and fishing (10%), manufacturing (10%), community, social and business services (6%), mining and quarrying (5%), construction (3%), electricity, gas and water (2%)

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.29