Amajuba District Municipality (DC25)

Geography, History & Economy

Amajuba District Municipality comprises:

MDB code: DC25

Description: The Amajuba District Municipality is a Category C municipality located in the north-western corner of KwaZulu-Natal, bordering on the Free State Province and Limpopo. It is one of the smallest districts in the province, making up only 8% of its geographical area. The municipality comprises three local municipalities: Newcastle, eMadlangeni and Dannhauser.
 The main transportation routes linking the district to its surrounds are the N11, which is the alternative route to Johannesburg from Durban, and the rail line, which is the main line from the Durban harbour to Gauteng. The R34 also bisects the district in an east-west direction and provides a linkage from the port city of Richards Bay to the interior.

Area: 7 102km²

Cities/Towns: Charlestown, Dannhauser, Hattingspruit, Newcastle, Utrecht

Main Economic Sectors: Manufacturing (35%), community services (22.2%), financial and business services (15.2%), trade (8.6%)

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.27