OR Tambo District Municipality (DC15)

Geography, History & Economy

OR Tambo District Municipality comprises:

MDB code: DC15

Description: The OR Tambo District Municipality is a Category C municipality located to the east of the Eastern Cape Province, on the coastline. It is bordered by the Alfred Nzo District Municipality to the north, the Joe Gqabi District Municipality to the north-west, the Amathole District Municipality to the south-west, and the Chris Hani District Municipality to the west.
 The municipality is formed by five local municipalities: King Sabata Dalindyebo, Nyandeni, Mhlontlo, Port St Johns and Ingquza Hill. It covers about 80% of what used to be marginalised homeland in the Transkei, and is one of the four Integrated Sustainable Rural Development Programme (ISRDP) nodes in the province.

Area: 12 141km²

Cities/Towns: Flagstaff, Libode, Lusikisiki, Mqanduli, Mthatha (previously Umtata), Ngqeleni, Port St Johns, Qumbu, Tsolo

Main Economic Sectors: Community services (55%), trade (18.5%), finance (16.9%), agriculture (3.5%), transport (3.1%), manufacturing (2.8%), construction (2.7%)

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.29