Alfred Nzo District Municipality (DC44)

Geography, History & Economy

Alfred Nzo District Municipality comprises:

MDB code: DC44

Description: The Alfred Nzo District Municipality is a Category C municipality located in the north-eastern corner of the Eastern Cape Province. It stretches from the Drakensberg Mountains, bordering Harry Gwala District Municipality to the north, OR Tambo District Municipality in the south and east, and Lesotho in the west.
 Alfred Nzo is the smallest district in the province, covering only 6% of the geographical area. The municipality is comprised of the Matatiele, Ntabankulu, Winnie Madikizela-Mandela and Umzimvubu Local Municipalities.

Area: 10 731km²

Cities/Towns: Bizana, Cedarville, KwaBhaca (Mount Frere), Matatiele, Tabankulu, eMaxesibeni (Mount Ayliff)

Main Economic Sectors: Community services (28%), wholesale/trade (15%), agriculture (12%), manufacturing (10%), transport (6.4%), construction (6%)

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.28