Ngqushwa Local Municipality (EC126)

Geography, History & Economy

Ngqushwa Local Municipality is part of Amathole District Municipality.

MDB code: EC126

Description: The Ngqushwa Local Municipality is a Category B municipality. It is one of the six municipalities within the jurisdiction of the Amathole District Municipality, situated within the Eastern Cape Province.
 It is bordered by the Keiskamma River to the east and the Great Fish River to the west. The southern boundary comprises part of the coastline of the Indian Ocean. Ngqushwa is one of the smaller municipalities in the district, accounting for 10% of its geographical area. It is predominantly rural in nature.

Area: 2 112km²

Cities/Towns: Hamburg, Peddie

Main Economic Sectors: Agriculture, tourism

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.28