King Cetshwayo District Municipality (DC28)

Geography, History & Economy

King Cetshwayo District Municipality comprises:

MDB code: DC28

Description: The King Cetshwayo District Municipality (previously uThungulu District Municipality) is a Category C municipality and is located in the north-eastern region of the KwaZulu-Natal Province. It covers the area from the uMfolozi River in the north, to KwaGingindlovu (previously Gingindlovu) in the south, and inland to Nkandla. The district is home to five local municipalities: City of uMhlathuze, uMlalazi, Mthonjaneni, Nkandla and uMfolozi.
 The N2 highway links the district to other significant economic centres, such as Durban and Johannesburg. It also offers a direct route to Maputo in Mozambique. The development of the Richards Bay Industrial Development Zone is boosting economic activity and attracting international investors.

Area: 8 214km²

Cities/Towns: Empangeni, Eshowe, KwaGingindlovu, KwaMbonambi, Melmoth, Mtunzini, Nkandla, Ntambanana, Richards Bay

Main Economic Sectors: Manufacturing (40.9%), mining (15.2%), community services (11.9%), finance (8.7%), transport (8.5%), trade (6.5%), agriculture (5.3%), construction (2.1%)

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.29