Makhado Local Municipality (LIM344)

Geography, History & Economy

Makhado Local Municipality is part of Vhembe District Municipality.

MDB code: LIM344

Description: The Makhado Local Municipality is a Category B municipality situated within the Vhembe District in the Limpopo Province. It borders with Musina in the north, Greater Giyani in the south (Mopani District), Thulamela in the east, and Molemole in the west (Capricorn District). It is one of four municipalities in the district, making up almost a third of its geographical area.
 It was first established on 31 October 1934 as the Louis Trichardt Town Council. With the new municipal demarcation, a number of municipalities were established in 1997. However, following the Municipal Structures Act of 1998, the municipalities were merged into an NP344 Municipality that is now known as the Makhado Municipality. It is divided into four regions: Makhado (previously Louis Trichardt), Vuwani, Dzanani and Waterval.

Area: 7 605km²

Cities/Towns: Makhado

Main Economic Sectors: Community services (30%), finance (29%), trade (15%), transport (13%)

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.27