Xhariep District Municipality (DC16)

Geography, History & Economy

Xhariep District Municipality comprises:

MDB code: DC16

Description: The Xhariep District Municipality is a Category C municipality situated in the southern part of the Free State. It is bordered by the Mangaung Metro to the north, Eastern Cape to the south, Lesotho to the east, and Northern Cape to the west.
 It is the largest district in the province, making up just more than a third of its geographical area. It is comprised of three local municipalities: Letsemeng, Kopanong and Mohokare, which include 21 towns. Its administrative headquarters are in Trompsburg, which lies 125km south of Bloemfontein.
 The towns in this district boast abundant natural resources such as water and agricultural land. The largest dam in South Africa is situated at the southern tip of the district. Three national roads (N1 – Gauteng to Cape Town, N6 – Eastern Cape to Bloemfontein and N8 – Bloemfontein to Kimberley) pass through this area.

Area: 34 250km²

Cities/Towns: Bethulie, Edenburg, Fauresmith, Gariep Dam, Jacobsdal, Jagersfontein, Koffiefontein, Luckhoff, Oppermansgronde, Petrusburg, Philippolis, Reddersburg, Rouxville, Smithfield, Springfontein, Trompsburg, Waterkloof, Zastron

Main Economic Sectors: Agriculture, construction, mining, transport and communication

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.27