ZF Mgcawu District Municipality (DC8)

Geography, History & Economy

ZF Mgcawu District Municipality comprises:

MDB code: DC8

Description: The ZF Mgcawu District Municipality (previously Siyanda District Municipality) is a Category C municipality forming the mid-northern section of the Northern Cape Province, bordering with Botswana in the north and Namibia in the west.
 It makes up just under a third of the province's geographical area, of which 65 000km² comprise the vast Kalahari Desert, Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park and the former Bushmanland. This district comprises five local municipalities: Dawid Kruiper, Kai !Garib, Tsantsabane, !Kheis and Kgatelopele. Upington is the district municipal capital, where the municipal government is located.

Area: 102 504km²

Cities/Towns: Beeshoek, Brandboom, Danielskuil, Eksteenskuil, Groblershoop, Kakamas, Keimoes, Kenhardt, Lime Acres, Mier, Postmasburg, Rietfontein, Upington

Main Economic Sectors: Agriculture, mining, tourism

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Powered by Creative 8 | Version: 2.10.24 / PHP Version: 8.1.29