Moretele Local Municipality (NW371)

Geography, History and Economy

Moretele Local Municipality is part of .

MDB code: NW371

Description: The Moretele Local Municipality is situated within the Bojanala Platinum District in the North West Province. The municipality is located in an area called Moretele, which is situated far north of Pretoria. It is located strategically to join four provinces, namely North West, Gauteng, Mpumalanga and Limpopo. It is the smallest of the five municipalities that make up the district, accounting for 8% of its geographical area.
 The municipality comprises 24 wards, which are made up of 66 villages and plots. Most of the villages are ruled by four traditional leaders (Dikgosi), who are recognised by law and represent their respective tribes/communities in council. Moretele is the Setswana name for a river that runs through the area, namely ‘Noka ya Moretele' (the Moretele River).

Area: 1 379km²

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us so that we can correct them.