Rand West City Local Municipality (GT485)

Rand West City Local Municipality was established by the amalgamation of Randfontein Local Municipality and Westonaria Local Municipality on 3 August 2016. Financial, Employment and Service Delivery information is not yet available for the new municipality. View historical information for Randfontein Local Municipality and Westonaria Local Municipality.


    Contact Details

    Postal: PO Box 218, Randfontein, 1760
    Physical: Cnr Surtherland & Pollock Streets, Randfontein
    Tel: 011 411 0000
    Fax: 011 693 1736
    Web: www.randwestcity.co.za

    Resident Queries

    Geography, History and Economy

    Area: 1 115km²
    Description: The Rand West City Local Municipality is a Category B municipality situated within the borders of the West Rand District in the Gauteng Province. It is the smallest of three municipalities in the district, making up a third of its geographical area. It was established by the amalgamation of the Randfontein and Westonaria Local Municipalities in August 2016.
     The municipality is characterised by dispersed urban structures consisting of various urban areas and mining villages spread across the entire municipal area. The rural areas consist of a large number of farms, as well as agricultural holdings.
     The N12 National Road and the R28 Provincial Road, as well as the railway line, provide easy access to the area. Goods and services can reach markets and airports easily without sacrificing quality or excessive transport costs. The Bus Rapid Transport (BRT) node from Lenasia also makes it a valued area of choice to reside in.

    Cities/Towns: Randfontein, Westonaria
    Main Economic Sectors: Mining, manufacturing, trade, government services, agriculture
  • MAP


    Political Management

    Composition of Council: ANC 37, DA 19, EFF 8, R.P.P 2, AZAPO 1, IFP 1, VF PLUS 1
    Controlling Party: ANC
    Mayor: Mr Mzikaize Khumalo
    Other Members of Council: Violet Nqina-Mzondeki (Speaker), Mkhuseli Jokazi (Chief Whip), Jeje Legote (MMC: Community Service), Selinah Maumakwe (MMC: Corporate), G Khoza (MMC: Water and Transport), A Gela (MMC: Health and Social Development), Tina Grobbler (MMC: Finance), N Dyase (MMC: Sports, Recreation, Arts and Culture), D Sithole (MMC: Water, Sanitation and Electricity), D Molebatsi (MMC: Integrated Environment), S Matakana (MMC: Human Settlement), S Mazibuko (MMC: Economic Development and Planning), A Mosina (Chairperson: MPAC)

    Administrative Management

    Municipal Manager: Mr Thabo Ndlovu
    Chief Financial Officer: Mr Vincent Mkhefa
    Communications Officer: Mr Philip Montshiwa
    LED Officer: Mr Hendrick Tshabangu
    Other Senior Management: Larry Steyn (Chief Operation Officer), Bongani Nkambule (Executive Manager: Infrastructure), Joshua Moloi (Executive Manager: Economic Development and Planning), Thami Matshego (Executive Manager: Community Services), Tokky Morolo (Executive Manager: Corporate Services)
    Population 265 887261 053
    Age Structure
    Population under 15 23.7%24.7%
    Population 15 to 64 71.4%71.5%
    Population over 65 4.9%3.7%
    Dependency Ratio
    Per 100 (15-64) 40.039.8
    Sex Ratio
    Males per 100 females 108.3108.8
    Population Growth
    Per annum 0.42%n/a
    Labour Market
    Unemployment rate (official) n/an/a
    Youth unemployment rate (official) 15-34 n/an/a
    Education (aged 20 +)
    No schooling 4.1%4.9%
    Matric 35.4%29.6%
    Higher education 6.5%8.3%
    Household Dynamics
    Households 103 58483 397
    Average household size 2.62.9
    Female headed households 32.7%32.2%
    Formal dwellings 73.1%69.9%
    Housing owned 45.0%36.7%
    Household Services
    Flush toilet connected to sewerage 73.5%69.4%
    Weekly refuse removal 79.9%74.3%
    Piped water inside dwelling 55.4%52.4%
    Electricity for lighting 75.9%74.8%

    Note: For information on methodology, sources and definitions please see Sources.

    All values: R'0002016/17
    Property rates148 818
    Service charges777 425
    Investment revenue7 066
    Transfers recognised - operational380 605
    Other own revenue78 224
    Total Revenue (excluding capital transfers and contributions)1 392 139
    Employee costs368 264
    Remuneration of councillors19 458
    Depreciation & asset impairment36 304
    Finance charges25 688
    Materials and bulk purchases551 071
    Transfers and grants1 500
    Other expenditure225 125
    Total Expenditure1 227 410
    Surplus/(Deficit)164 729
    Transfers recognised - capital7 219
    Contributions recognised - capital & contributed assets-
    Surplus/(Deficit) after capital transfers & contributions171 948
    Share of surplus/(deficit) of associate-
    Surplus/(Deficit) for the year171 948
    Capital expenditure178 706
    Transfers recognised - capital176 964
    Public contributions & donations-
    Internally generated funds1 742
    Total sources of capital funds178 706
    Total current assets259 101
    Total non current assets3 761 490
    Total current liabilities650 017
    Total non current liabilities294 699
    Community wealth/Equity3 075 876
    Net cash from (used) operating262 706
    Net cash from (used) investing(230 266)
    Net cash from (used) financing12 106
    Cash/cash equivalents at the year end128 997
    Unauthorised expendituren/a
    Irregular expendituren/a
    Fruitless & wasteful expendituren/a
    SOURCES71 Unaudited

    Note: For information on methodology, sources and definitions please see Sources.

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at info@municipalities.co.za so that we can correct them.