Bitou Local Municipality (WC047)

Geography, History and Economy

Bitou Local Municipality is part of .

MDB code: WC047

Description: The Bitou Local Municipality is a Category B municipality located in the far west of the Eden District in the Western Cape Province. It is bordered in the north by George Local Municipality, in the south by the Indian Ocean, in the east by the Eastern Cape Province, and in the west by Knysna Local Municipality.
 It is the smallest municipality of the seven that make up the district, accounting for only 4% of its geographical area.

Area: 992km²

Cities/Towns: Keurboomstrand, Krantshoek, Kurland, Kwanokuthula, Nature's Valley, Plettenberg Bay, Wittedrift

Main Economic Sectors: Wholesale and retail trade, catering and accommodation (29.4%), finance, insurance, real estate and business services (22.7%), manufacturing (15.1%), construction (11.9%), transport, storage and communication (5.8%), general government (5.1%), community, social and personal services (4.7%), agriculture, forestry and fishing (4.3%)

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us so that we can correct them.