Ikwezi Local Municipality (EC103)

Ikwezi Local Municipality was disestablished and merged into Dr Beyers Naudé Local Municipality on 3 August 2016. All information displayed here is historical information relating to the municipality before being disestablished.

Geography, History & Economy

Ikwezi Local Municipality is part of Sarah Baartman District Municipality.

MDB code: EC103

Description: Ikwezi Local Municipality is located within the Eastern Cape province, one of nine local municipalities located within the Sarah Baartman District Municipality (previously Cacadu District Municipality).
 The town of Jansenville is bordered to the south by the Sundays River. The R75 between Port Elizabeth and Graaff-Reneit dissects the town in a north/south direction.
 Klipplaat is dominated by predominantly defunct railway lines and shunting yards, whereas Waterford may be characterised as a small rural node historically established to serve the surrounding farming community.

Area: 4 563km²

Cities/Towns: Jansenville, Klipplaat, Waterford

Main Economic Sectors: Agriculture, community and public services, wholesale and retail trade, manufacturing

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.