Lejweleputswa District Municipality (DC18)

Geography, History and Economy

Lejweleputswa District Municipality comprises:

    MDB code: DC18

    Description: The Lejweleputswa District Municipality is a Category C municipality situated in the north-western part of the Free State. It borders the North West Province to the north, Fezile Dabi and Thabo Mofutsanyana to the north-east and east respectively, Mangaung and Xhariep to the south, and the Northern Cape Province to the west.
     The district makes up almost a third of the province, and consists of the following five local municipalities, with approximately 18 towns distributed throughout: Masilonyana, Tokologo, Tswelopele, Matjhabeng and Nala.
     It is accessible from Johannesburg, Cape Town, Klerksdorp and Kimberley along the N1, one of the country's main national roads.

    Area: 31 930km²

    Cities/Towns: Allanridge, Boshof, Bothaville, Brandfort, Bultfontein, Dealesville, Hennenman, Hertzogville, Hoopstad, Odendaalsrus, Soutpan, Theunissen, Ventersburg, Verkeerdevlei, Virginia, Welkom, Wesselsbron, Winburg

    Main Economic Sectors: Mining (31%), construction, transport, electricity, trade

    The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us so that we can correct them.