Eden District Municipality (DC4)

Geography, History and Economy

Eden District Municipality comprises:

    MDB code: DC4

    Description: The Eden District Municipality is a Category C municipality situated in the Western Cape Province. Eden District shares borders with four other district municipalities, namely: Sarah Baartman District Municipality in the Eastern Cape, and Overberg, Cape Winelands and Central Karoo District Municipalities in the Western Cape.
     The district municipality comprises seven local municipalities: George, Mossel Bay, Knysna, Bitou, Oudtshoorn, Hessequa and Kannaland.
     The region is defined as a medium-capacity functional municipality. Eden District has a diverse natural resource base. It is marketed with regards to tourism under the internationally acclaimed brands of the ‘Garden Route' and ‘Klein Karoo'.

    Area: 23 331km²

    Cities/Towns: Albertinia, Boggoms Bay, Brandwag, Brenton, Brenton-on-Sea, Buffels Bay, Calitzdorp, De Rust, Dysselsdorp, Friemersheim, George, Gouritz, Great Brak River, Haarlem, Heidelberg, Herbertsdale, Herolds Bay, Jongensfontein, Keurboomstrand, Knoetzie, Knysna, Krantshoek, Kurland, Kwanokuthula, Ladismith, Mossel Bay, Nature's Valley, Oudtshoorn, Plettenberg Bay, Rheenendal, Riversdale, Sedgefield, Slangrivier, Still Bay, Uniondale, Vanwyksdorp, Victoria Bay, Vleesbaai, Wilderness, Witsand, Wittedrift, Zoar

    Main Economic Sectors: Finance and business services (23.4%), manufacturing (17.3%), wholesale and accommodation (17%), general government (12.1%), construction (9.5%), transport and communication (7.8%), community services (5.5%), agriculture, forestry and fishing (5.5%)

    The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us so that we can correct them.